Magee, Mealey, and Tao Win Hoopes Prizes for Theses

May 21, 2021
harvard shield veritas

Three Philosophy concentrators have been awarded the Hoopes Prize for 2020-2021 academic year. Funded by the estate of Thomas T. Hoopes (Class of 1921), The Hoopes prize is awarded annually to undergraduates “on the basis of outstanding scholarly work or research... recognizing, promoting, honoring, and rewarding excellence in the work of undergraduates and their capabilities and skills in any subject, projects of research in science or the humanities, or in specific written work of the students under the instruction or supervision of the Faculty.”

The Winners are:

Patrick Magee for his submission entitled “Knowledge and Explanation: What Physics Tells Us about the World”—supervised and nominated by Professor Edward Hall
Alexis Mealey for her submission entitled “The Not-So-Innocent Threat: A Libertarian Justification for the Expansion of the Minimal State”—supervised and nominated by Dr. Emilio Mora
Annabelle Tao for her submission entitled “Evolving Representations”—supervised and nominated by Professor Alison Simmons

Student winners are awarded $5,000. Faculty nominators of winning projects are awarded $2,000. Written winning projects are bound and available in Lamont Library for two years.

The Philosophy Department offers its warmest congratulations on this superb achievement!

You can read more about the prize and see the full list of winners here.