2020 Department of Philosophy Prize Winners Announced

July 17, 2020
emerson hall entrance in spring

The Department of Philosophy is delighted to announce the winners of this year's Carrier, Adams, Bechtel, and Bowen Prizes, awarded annually to our undergraduate and graduate students for essays and theses/dissertations. You can read more about the history of these prizes below. Congratulations to all of these deserving undergraduate and graduate students!

Bechtel Prize:

  • Rachael Goodyer for her essay, "How to (mis)read ‘The Human Prejudice’ ”

Bowen Prize:

  • David Thorstad for his essay, “Norms of Inquiry”

Carrier Prizes:

  • Ronni Gura Sadovsky for her dissertation, “Political Etiquette”
  • Esteban Flores for his senior thesis, “To Study Zen is to Study the Self: Dōgen’s Account of Personal Identity”
  • Victoria Scott for her senior thesis, “Risk-Needs Assessment and Rehabilitative Juvenile Justice: Racial Justice and Democracy in the 21st Century”

Adams Prizes:

  • Allison Aitken for her dissertation, “Everywhere Relations”
  • Akari Furukawa for her senior thesis, “Heidegger on Wonder”  


The Adams Prize was established in 1974 in memory of Professor George Plimpton Adams and is awarded to students submitting a thesis or dissertation on a subject designated by the Department of Philosophy, preferably in the field of history of philosophy.

The Bechtel Prize was established through the generosity of Edwin D. Bechtel and is awarded annually for the best essay on a philosophical subject.

The Bowen Prize, established in 1938 by a bequest from Miss Maria Bowen as a memorial to her father who held the Alford professorship of Natural Religion, Moral Philosophy, and Civil Polity from 1853 to 1889, is awarded annually for the best essay upon a subject in moral or political philosophy.

The Carrier Prize was established in memory of Emily and Charles Carrier and is awarded to students submitting a thesis or dissertation on a subject in social, political, or moral philosophy.